Comfortable Things on Rainy Days.

This has been a busy week, complete with long work hours, crazy amounts of errands and 4,000 things on my mind.  Consequently, I haven’t had much time to play in the kitchen.  I hope to remedy that over the next couple of days, but today I turned to something tried, true, delicious and simple for dinner.

It’s a funny thing about living on the coast of Maine; even in the middle of summer, one might stumble across a dreary day with a chill in the air.  Today is one of those days, so I put on my sweater and made this soup.

Dal-Inspired Lentil Soup

1/2 lb dry green lentils

4 cups vegetable stock

2 cups water

1 onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 inch cube fresh ginger, minced

1 Tbsp. vegetable oil

1 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. turmeric

1 tsp. curry powder

1 tsp. red chile flakes

Salt to taste

Directions:

Heat oil in a soup pot or large sauce pan.  Add onions, garlic and ginger and cook, stirring frequently, for 5-6 minutes, until onions start to become translucent.  Add spices and stir continuously for 1 minute, until spices become aromatic.  Add water, stock and lentils.  Bring to a boil, then turn heat to low and simmer 30-40 minutes, until lentils are tender.  Mash some of the lentils in the pot with the back of a spoon to make a thicker soup.  Serve over rice, with bread, or alone with a dollop of yogurt and a sprinkle of chopped fresh cilantro on top.

About veggiegoodness

If I tried to tell you how I feel about food, I'd never be able to explain it in a concise and original way. So let me just tell you this: I love to cook and I love to eat. I make good food, and I want you to try it. View all posts by veggiegoodness

Leave a Reply

